Jump to content
Cover for The Return of Sherlock Holmes
Isbn: 978-91-7605-244-0
Publisher: Anncona Media
Short stories Crime & Mystery In english
Accessible since: May 2014


The Return of Sherlock Holmes

The Return of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of 13 Sherlock Holmes stories, originally published in 1905, by Arthur Conan Doyle. This was the first Holmes collection since 1893, when Holmes had "died" in The Final Problem. Having published The Hound of the Baskervilles in 1901-1902 (although setting it before Holmes' death) Doyle came under intense pressure to revive his famous character.

The first story is set in 1894 and has Holmes returning in London and explaining the period from 1891-94, a period called "The Great Hiatus" by Sherlockian enthusiasts. Also of note is Watson's statement in the last story of the cycle that Holmes has retired, and forbids him to publish any more stories.

The collection includes the following stories:
    "The Adventure of the Empty House" (The return of Holmes)
    "The Adventure of the Norwood Builder"
    "The Adventure of the Dancing Men"
    "The Adventure of the Solitary Cyclist"
    "The Adventure of the Priory School"
    "The Adventure of Black Peter"
    "The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton"
    "The Adventure of the Six Napoleons"
    "The Adventure of the Three Students"
    "The Adventure of the Golden Pince-Nez"
    "The Adventure of the Missing Three-Quarter"
    "The Adventure of the Abbey Grange"
    "The Adventure of the Second Stain"

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) was a Scottish physician and writer, most noted for his stories about the detective Sherlock Holmes, generally considered a milestone in the field of crime fiction, and for the adventures of Professor Challenger. He was a prolific writer whose other works include science fiction stories, plays, romances, poetry, non-fiction and historical novels.

Sherlock Holmes is a London-based "consulting detective" whose abilities border on the fantastic, Holmes is famous for his astute logical reasoning, his ability to adopt almost any disguise, and his use of forensic science skills to solve difficult cases. Holmes, who first appeared in publication in 1887, was featured in four novels and 56 short stories.
Novels: A Study in Scarlet (1887), The Sign of the Four (1890), The Hound of the Baskervilles (1902) and The Valley of Fear (1915).

Short stories: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1892), The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1894), The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1905), His Last Bow (1917) and The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (1927).

Log in to borrow


Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms


Tablet e-reader